Midcoast Senior College

Midcoast Senior College

Founders Award

     To acknowledge in a meaningful way the contributions of the two co-founders of Midcoast Senior College, Nancy Wheeler and Jack Thompson, the Board of Directors established in 2009 the Wheeler/Thompson Founders Award.  Presented annually at the Spring Luncheon, this award recognizes an individual who has supported the spirit and work of Senior College in significant ways.

     Nominations are solicited each spring from among past and present members/students, faculty, volunteers, and others.  The Board makes the final selection.  (Sitting members of the Board of Directors are not eligible.)  Each annual recipient of the Wheeler/Thompson Founders Award:

  • is honored at the annual luncheon in June
  • receives a framed certificate
  • receives a $100 gift certificate to a bookstore
  • has his or her name engraved on a permanent plaque displayed at Senior College.

Members:  Submit your nomination for the Founders Award before May 1st

"The skill of writing is to create a context in which other people can think." Edwin Schlossberg

     The late Bill Brown, beloved teacher for the length and breadth of twenty semesters, received the first annual award in 2010.
Read:  Remembering Bill Brown

     The 2011 winner was Jack Henderson, one of our founding Board members and on-going volunteer and committee member.

     In 2012, the award was presented to Dennis Unger. Dennis was recognized for his strong advocacy and support for Senior College as Director of University College, Bath-Brunswick.

     Agnes Beale received the award in 2013 after 11 years of dedicated “behind the scene” volunteer service. Agnes served on the Board of Directors, and has been an active member of several committees, including Public Relations and Administration. As unofficial Senior College photographer, she has provided hundreds of images for our website, publications, and archives. We are grateful for her on-going commitment to the organization.

Bill Brown receives the Founders Award from Jack Thompson

Co-founders Jack Thompson (left) and Nancy Wheeler (right) congratulate 2011 winner Jack Henderson

2012 Award Winner Dennis Unger

2012 Award winner Dennis Unger receives congratulations from Jack Thompson and Nancy Wheeler


Board members Richard DeVito and Mary Ann Gesner presented the 2013 award to Agnes Beale.